Work(s) Cited:
An entry that appears at the end of your paper that starts on its own separate page.
Format:
All works cited should be double spaced, have a hanging indent and be listed in alphabetical order. When using a journal article from an online database, the elements to include are as follows:
If one author:
With DOI
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Volume*, Issue*, Year, Pages**, Title of Database, doi: doi number. Accessed Day Month Year
Without DOI
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Volume*, Issue*, Year, Pages**, Title of Database, URL. Accessed Day Month Year
If two authors:
With DIO
First Author's Last Name, First Name, and Second Author's Full Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Volume*, Issue*, Year, Pages**, Title of Database, doi: doi number. Accessed day Month year
Without DIO
First Author's Last Name, First Name, and Second Author's Full Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Volume*, Issue*, Year, Pages**, Title of Database, URL. Accessed day Month year
If three or more authors:
With DOI
First Author's Last Name, First Name, et al. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Volume*, Issue*, Year, Pages**, Title of Database, doi: doi number. Accessed day Month year
With DOI
First Author's Last Name, First Name, et al. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Volume*, Issue*, Year, Pages**, Title of Database, URL. Accessed day Month year
If an organization/corporation is the author:
With DOI
Organization/Corporation's Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Volume*, Issue*, Year, Pages**, Title of Database, doi: doi number. Accessed day Month year
With DOI
Organization/Corporation's Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Volume*, Issue*, Year, Pages**, Title of Database, URL. Accessed day Month year
Examples:
If one author:
With DOI
Freud, Sigmund. "What Does Psychology Actually Do: Why Do We Need It." Psychology Quarterly, vol. IV, no. 3, 2019, pp. 43-46, ProQuest, doi:101.102/S155887.2019. Accessed 29 August 2021
Without DOI
Freud, Sigmund. "What Does Psychology Actually Do: Why Do We Need It." Psychology Quarterly, vol. IV, no. 3, 2019, pp. 43-46, ProQuest, www.psychologicalquarterly.com/whatdoespsychologyactuallydo. Accessed 29 August 2021
If two authors:
With DOI
Freud, Sigmund, and Burrhus F. Skinner. "What Does Psychology Actually Do: Why Do We Need It." Psychology Quarterly, vol. IV, no. 3, 2019, pp. 43-46, ProQuest, doi:101.102/S155887.2019. Accessed 29 August 2021
Without DOI
Freud, Sigmund, and Burrhus F. Skinner. "What Does Psychology Actually Do: Why Do We Need It." Psychology Quarterly, vol. IV, no. 3, 2019, pp. 43-46, ProQuest, www.psychologicalquarterly.com/whatdoespsychologyactuallydo. Accessed 29 August 2021
If three or more authors:
With DOI
Freud, Sigmund, et al. "What Does Psychology Actually Do: Why Do We Need It." Psychology Quarterly, vol. IV, no. 3, 2019, pp. 43-46, ProQuest, doi:101.102/S155887.2019. Accessed 29 August 2021
Without DOI
Freud, Sigmund, et al. "What Does Psychology Actually Do: Why Do We Need It." Psychology Quarterly, vol. IV, no. 3, 2019, pp. 43-46, ProQuest, www.psychologicalquarterly.com/whatdoespsychologyactuallydo. Accessed 29 August 2021
If an organization/corporation is the author:
With DOI
The American Psychological Association. "What Does Psychology Actually Do: Why Do We Need It." Psychology Quarterly, vol. IV, no. 3, 2019,pp. 43-46, ProQuest, doi:101.102/S155887.2019. Accessed 29 August 2021
Without DOI
The American Psychological Association. "What Does Psychology Actually Do: Why Do We Need It." Psychology Quarterly, vol. IV, no. 3, 2019,pp. 43-46, ProQuest, www.psychologicalquarterly.com/whatdoespsychologyactuallydo. Accessed 29 August 2021
*Please note that you should use the number format that is used by the source whether it be Roman (I, II, III, IV) or Arabic (1, 2, 3, 4) numerals.
**Please note that this part is to be omitted if page numbers are not given.
In-Text Citation
Using in-text citation is necessary to help avoid instances of plagiarism. It is an entry that appears in the body of your paper that includes the last name of the author(s) and page number (if available) when you express information or ideas taken from a source through a quote or by using your own words.
Examples:
If one author with page number available:
(Freud 21).
Freud stated that "Insert quoted text here" (21).
If one author without page number available:
(Freud).
Freud stated that "Insert quoted text here."
If two authors with page number available:
(Freud and Skinner 21).
Freud and Skinner stated that "Insert quoted text here" (21).
If two authors without page number available:
(Freud and Skinner).
Freud and Skinner stated that "Insert quoted text here."
If three or more authors with page numbers available:
(Freud et al. 21).
Freud et al. that "Insert quoted text here" (21).
If three or more authors without page numbers available:
(Freud et al.).
Freud et al. that "Insert quoted text here."
If an organization/corporation is the author with page numbers available:
(The American Psychological Association 21).
The American Psychological Association stated that "Insert quoted text here" (21).
If an organization/corporation is the author without page numbers available:
(The American Psychological Association).
The American Psychological Association stated that "Insert quoted text here."