Wilberforce University’s Scarborough Archives, located on the lower floor of the library, serves to preserve and make accessible the contributions and significance of Wilberforce University to its community, the State of Ohio, the United States, and the world. It is a closed research collection of institutional memories highlighting the contributions of Wilberforceans and the environs. It is available by appointment only.
Spring 2024
| Day | Time |
| Sunday | Closed |
| Monday |
8:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m. |
| Tuesday |
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. |
| Wednesday |
8:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m. |
| Thursday |
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. |
| Friday |
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. |
| Saturday |
Closed |
*The archives are closed for holidays, breaks, mandatory meetings, and any other time the campus is closed.
| Reference Questions* | WUlibrary@wilberforce.edu |
| Archival Questions* | WUarchives@wilberforce.edu |
| Director of Library Services: Sam Johnson | sjohnson3@wilberforce.edu |
| Archivist: Desmond Bolden | dbolden2@wilberforce.edu |
This box contains the finding aids for processed and catalogued collections within the archive. Links will be added as collections are finished and documented. There are many items, objects, and collections that are unprocessed or not ready for a public display of their contents. We are in the process of organizing the university's records by presidential administration. Presidents are denoted by the years of their respective administrations. For collections without hyper-links, please email WUArchives@wilberforce.edu for additional information.
Please use the links to navigate to the finding aids.
WU-MS 2022-1: Levi Jenkins Coppin Papers
WU-MS 2022-2: Wilberforce-Central State Split Collection
WU-MS 2022-3: William S. Scarborough (1908-1920) Papers
WU-MS 2022-4: Charles H. Wesley (1942-1947) Papers
WU-MS 2022-5: Wilberforce University Yearbook Collection
WU-MS 2022-6: Jerry D. Lindsey Papers
WU-MS 2022-7: Daniel Payne (1863-1876) Papers
WU-MS 2022-8: Thurston Jamison Papers
WU-MS 2022-9: Charles L. Hill (1947-1956) Papers
WU-MS 2022-10: Leonidas Berry Papers
WU-MS 2022-11: Records of Central State University and Payne Theological Seminary
WU-MS 2022-12: M. Wright Brailey Papers
WU-MS 2022-13: Reverdy C. Ransom Papers
WU-MS 2022-14: Valena Randolph Papers
WU-MS 2023-1: Rembert E. Stokes (1956-1976) Papers
WU-MS 2023-2: Charles Dean Papers
WU-MS 2023-3: Records of the AME Church
WU-MS 2023-4: William Wilberforce Collection
WU-MS 2024-1: Records of the Wilberforce University Board
WU-MS 2024-2: Wilberforce University Mirror Collection
WU-MS 2024-3: Yvonne Walker-Taylor (1984-1988) Papers
WU-MS 2024-4: Tom Veale Theater Collection
WU-MS 2024-5: The Christian Recorder Collection
WU-MS 2024-6: Elfred A. Pinkard (2018-2023) Papers
WU-MS 2024-7: Vann R. Newkirk (2023-Present) Papers
WU-MS 2024-8: Patricia L. Hardaway (2008-2013) Papers
WU-MS 2024-9: Algeani Warren Freeman (2014-2016) Papers
WU-MS 2024-10: Wilma Mishoe (Acting, 2013-2014) Papers
WU-MS 2024-11: Herman J. Felton Jr. (2016-2018) Papers
WU-MS 2024-12: Charles Young Collection
WU-MS 2024-13: John A. Gregg (1920-1924) Papers
WU-MS 2024-14: Gilbert H. Jones (1924-1932) Papers
WU-MS 2024-15: Samuel T. Mitchell (1884-1900) Papers
WU-MS 2024-16: The Wilberforcian Collection
WU-MS 2024-17: John L. Henderson (1988-2002) Papers
WU-MS 2024-18: TBD
WU-MS 2024-19: Richard R. Wright Jr. (1932-1936) Papers
WU-MS 2024-20: Wilberforce University History Collection
WU-MS 2024-21: Wilberforce University Photo Collection
WU-MS 2024-22: TBD
WU-MS 2024-23: Charles Taylor (1976-1984) Papers
WU-MS 2024-24: Floyd Flake (2002-2008) Papers
WU-MS 2024-25: D. Ormonde Walker (1936-1942) Papers
WU-MS 2024-26: Jamesetta Shorter Wilson Papers
WU-MS 2024-27: Milton S.J. Wright Papers
WU-MS 2024-28: TBD
WU-MS 2024-29: Wilberforce University Catalog Collection
WU-MS 2024-30: Records of Central State University